New rubber

Adding this again as it seems to of disappeared since I originally uploaded it 7days ago :/.

Treated myself to some new tyres today as the winter weather isn’t really suited to the DMR moto RTs that have been residing on my bike.

Enter a pair of Continental mountain king II in 2.2 folding flavour. I had read a few reviews online about them and figured they would fit for the purpose intended, a grippy xc tyre that I could keep on as a do everything.

First thing I noticed is they’re quite light (especially compared to my wire beaded DMRs).

20130130-124217.jpg

A mere 601g on my cheapy kitchen scales. Quite a saving compared to the

DMRs which weigh in at a hefty 874g (that’s over 500g saved in rotating mass or 1lb if you prefer).

Reviews online say they come up slightly small but I found them comparitive to the DMRs fitted previously both labelled as 2.2s.

20130130-124352.jpg

Contintental mountain king II at the top, DMR moto rt at the bottom.

I’ll reserve judgement until I’ve run them for a few miles and update you all on my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

