Biggest ride yet

Yesterday I went for my biggest ride yet… And didn’t make it all the way home!

Yep I folded, my legs wouldn’t work anymore (well at least not when I needed to go uphill). Fortunately an amazing wife came to my rescue and picked me and my bike up. I’ve got nobody to blame but myself I just simply didn’t take enough food to keep my energy levels up.

I managed 65 (well 64.97) miles so I was happy with that. This took me from Yeovil out to langport following the river as I have done many times before.

20130620-232442.jpg

From here I carried on to a small village, Burrowbridge which is home to burrow mump an old church ruins which overlooks the levels.

20130620-232600.jpg

20130620-232626.jpg

More details about it here

From the too is an incredible view across the Somerset levels.

20130620-232934.jpg

From here I carried on to Bridgwater to follow the Bridgwater to Taunton canal, I didn’t see many people and it was very very peaceful, just the noise of my bike and the surrounding plants/animals… Bliss!

20130620-233135.jpg

From here I went through some small villages and ended up at crewekerne needing rescue.

All in all a lesson learnt about keeping my energy levels topped up and also with regards to planning!

I still enjoyed the ride (right up until the last couple of miles when I knew I had nothing more I could really give).

20130620-233414.jpg

Roll on the next one 🙂

Leave a Reply

